Posted on

Joe Burrow wins ahead of Jalen Hurts, Justin Fields

NEW YORK — LSU quarterback Joe Burrow won the 2019 Heisman Trophy by the largest margin in the award’s history, cementing his place in program and SEC lore after one of the most impressive seasons by a passer in the history of the sport.

“This is what kids dream of doing,” Burrow said. “I envisioned myself on that stage and being the quarterback of the No. 1 team in the country playing for the national championship. So this entire season has been a dream come true for me.”

Burrow earned a first-place vote on 841 of 927 ballots, nearing the record of 855 first-place votes set by Southern California running back O.J. Simpson in 1968, and his 1,846-point margin of victory breaks Simpson’s record of 1,750. He received 41 second-place votes and three third-place votes for a total of 2,608 points.

The senior set another three Heisman records. Burrow earned 93.8% of possible points available, breaking the mark of 91.6% set by Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith in 2006, and was picked first on 90.7% of all ballots, breaking Smith’s record of 86.7%. He was named on 95.5% of all ballots, narrowly edging the previous record of 95.2% set by Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota in 2014.

“It goes to show the kind of year he’s had,” LSU coach Ed Orgeron said. “He had a great year and I think the whole country noticed it. So we’re very proud that he won by such a wide margin.”

Joe Burrow poses with the Heisman Trophy.

Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts finished second (762 points), Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields finished third (747) and Ohio State defensive end Chase Young finished fourth (643). Ohio State is the first program since Oklahoma in 2004 to have teammates finish in the top four of the Heisman voting.

Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor (189 points), Ohio State running back J.K. Dobbins (114), Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence (88), Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard (68), Clemson running back Travis Etienne (25) and Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa (24) rounded out the top 10.